royal titles: a lexicon

i crown thee

It has come to my attention that I may need to educate my readers on the various titles bestowed to my countrymen, friends and relations.

Without further adieu:

Princess: A nonreigning female member of a royal family.  In other words, moi.

Duchess: Of or related to a Duke.

Empress: A female ruler of an empire OR the consort of an emperor.  Consort, now there’s a curious term.  Sounds rather naughty, does it not?  Alas, the term is strictly on the up-and-up, and refers to a spouse.

Archduke: a title of the sovereign princes of the former ruling house of Austria.  That would be Franz Josef and his little brothers before Ferdinand the Kindly abdicated.

Archduchess: A princess of the Austrian imperial family. Yes, you guessed it, my future mother-in-law.  But let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

Baroness: The wife of a feudal vassal holding his lands under a direct grant from the king.  That would be my insufferable governess, The Baroness Louise Wulfen.

Countess: Same as Baroness, but more so.

Dowager: An elderly woman of stately dignity, esp. one of elevated social position.  Usually battle-ax types, but occasionally, sweet old ladies.

Lady-in-waiting: A woman who is in attendance upon a queen or princess.  I will have scads of these bothersome women be-next to me once I am Empress. Though they are supposed to be discreet, my ladies-in-waiting will actually be spies employed by my very strict mother-in-law (a title which, I beg, needs no defining).

One thought on “royal titles: a lexicon

  1. “Dowager: An elderly woman of stately dignity, esp. one of elevated social position. Usually battle-ax types, but occasionally, sweet old ladies.”

    “Usually battle-ax types. . .” So funny~~

    Like

Comments are closed.