borderline? really?

Image

Yes, I had an eating disorder. Yes, I was vain and eccentric. Yes, there is the concrete proof that a cult arose to celebrate my beauty in the Barbie version of me. But does that relegate me, as many seem to think, to the current DSM description of Borderline Personality Disorder?

I submit the following Wikipedia boilerplate:

Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD) is marked by a prolonged disturbance of personality function, characterized by unusual variability and depth of moods. The disorder typically involves an unusual degree of instability in mood and black-and-white thinking, or splitting. BPD often manifests itself in idealization and devaluation episodes and chaotic and unstable interpersonal relationships, issues with self-image, identity, and behavior; as well as a disturbance in the individual’s sense of self. In extreme cases, this disturbance in the sense of self can lead to periods of dissociation. The primary features of BPD are unstable interpersonal relationships, affective distress, marked impulsivity, and unstable self-image.Suicidal or self-harming behavior is one of the core diagnostic criteria.

Let’s take these points one by one, shall we?

Moodiness. I beg you to find a woman, empress or not, who is devoid of peaks and valleys. Some days simply set one off. For instance, when my husband bought me a monkey for my birthday, but once the little creature began pleasuring itself in the halls, my mother-in-law banished it to the Court zoo. Anyone might have a wee snit fit under those circumstances.

Black and white thinking. Hm. I beg to differ! On the contrary, my challenges at Court had more to do with rebelling against the stodgy Habsburgs and their absolutism and monarchical demands. Was it not I who eased tensions between the Emperor and Hungary? Did I not submit a compromise in allowing my mother-in-law rule over my children? And what of my negotiating an on-going tryst between that actress and my husband? Shades of grey were paramount (and I’m not talking about that popular smut series).

Impulsivity. I reject this. I was calculated and obsessive, but not impulsive. One does not learn five languages, invest in the cultures of other lands, and painstakingly maintain a regime of exercise and beauty cures if one is given to willynilly adventures at the drop of the hat.

Splitting. Okay, you have me here. I did tend to idealize and demonize regularly. And those in my circle would continually thrill and disappoint me in turn, but I see my waffling more as a cycle of naivety and betrayal than psychotic rupture.

As to my relationships and self-image. C’mon. I was first lady to the most powerful man in the world! I bore up, even at the tender age of 16, to all sorts of pressures. Maybe maintaining a 19 inch waist and a weight of 50 kilos was compensatory? Maybe, instead of a pharmaceuticals to release the pain of my obligations, I chose to be tight-laced to the edge of my threshold in order to distract myself from the perpetual Habsburg white noise of disdain. If you consider that my marginal anorexia led to anemia, which, in turn led to various rest cures in Madeira far from the frigid halls of Viennese court-life, well, maybe I was crazy like a fox!

Ironic, also, that in the end I did not kill myself. Someone else had that dubious honor. Borderline, schmorderline. I was merely living my life.

6 thoughts on “borderline? really?

  1. Actually, the doll pictured here is The Empress Sisi by Cheryl Crawford of Crawford Manor Dolls. It is not a Barbie, but a Tonner Doll – Tyler as Cinderella is the model. I know, because I own her 😉

    As to the Anorexia, I think Sisi had anorexia because she could control nothing in her life, save what she ate and how she looked. With a controlling and destructive harpy for a mother-in-law, this was Sisi’s way of getting back some control. It may have started out innocently enough, but later developed beyond normal proportions — as many anorexics find. I do not think she had a true body dysmorphic disorder [I do not think she looked in the mirror and thought — I look fat], but rather an obsession with control the few things she could control. I mean, seriously, how better to get back at Sophie who wanted to relegate Sisi into broodmare status than to starve herself into near infertility — that small waist must have driven Sophie mad, and to ride like a Hussar! Both of which would make it hard to get pregnant and hard to stay pregnant. Add to that health issue, most probably either bladder or kidney infections caused by STD’s passed on by Franzi [who can say, Sophie was said to have encouraged Franzi to start having affairs, I do not put it past Sophie to pick women who did have STD’s — Catherine the Great had one of her Ladies in Waiting make sure that the men she wanted to sleep with were clean 😉 All those trips to the spa, well back in the day the ‘water douche’ was a way that wealthy women who did not find pleasure in the beds of their husbands fulfilled themselves. Just saying. I thnik Sisi became rather asexual.

    I do not think that Sisi had a problem with ‘the actress’, I think she may have picked the actress most probably as a substitute for herself. In picking her she had some bit of control over her. I think Sisi WAS angry about Anna Nahowski, and the two children Franzi had by her. Franzi had taken Anna as a mistress from 1875 to 1888, starting when she was 15 or 16 [she had been married at 14] — sound familiar? Anna had her freedom, a nice little house that Franzi walked to every morning at 5AM to have sex with her, and Anna got to raise her children in freedom. It was about the time when Franzi was getting bored with Anna that Sisi hooked him up with Katherina Schratt in the early 1880s. It is interesting to note that while Anna did not look like Sisi, Katherina could be made to look like a cheaper, and larger, version of Sisi.. At least to my eyes. I am sure the infidelities hurt Sisi deeply, in fact Marie Larisch tells of Sisi breaking down because of them, in private, of course, but perhaps the choice of Katherina was a ‘better the devil you know’ sort of decision. Poor Sisi, she was Imperially screwed in more ways than one, but I am proud that she eventually found her strength and did what she could to make her life bearable.

    Like

Comments are closed.